my august faves!!

since last month’s faves were super well recieved, i decided to do more of them this month. below are ten things i’ve been looking at for mostly back to school.

(also spoiler alert for pretty little liars’ “game over charles”. read at your own discretion)

1. – Zara’s “Crochet top” with Zara’s “Jacquard skirt”

 I’ve always been obsessed with Zara. However, I think the only store in my area is about 40 minutes away in the heart of the city’s downtown. I happened to be there last weekend, where this outfit was on display. Since I’m still small enough to fit into the clothes in the kids section, that’s mostly where I shop because it’s cheaper. Everything there is seriously good quality for the price, and this is absolutely my style. I’d say these two were probably the best purchases of the month.

2. – Marvel’s “Agents of S.H.I.E.L.D.”

This scares the crap out of me, but I’m in love with this show. Of course, I’ve seen all the movies in the Marvel universe, but sometime in the past month was my first time seeing a TV program made by them. I’m not disappointed. Usually I don’t adore things like this with all the fighting and the sound effects and the gimmicks, but Agents of S.H.I.E.L.D. seems to be an exception.

3. – Confessions of a Prairie B*tch by Alison Arngrim

Alison Arngrim is hilarious, and her autobiography reeks of old Hollywood glamour. Her experiences playing Nellie Oleson on ‘Little House on the Prairie’, along with growing up with semi-famous parents and a teen idol-type brother, are truly one of a kind. It’s a great, funny read and one of my favorite autobiographies of all time.

4. – Starbucks’ “Passion Tango Iced Tea Lemonade”

Since Starbucks ‘Refreshers’ are so expensive and you get mostly ice & no drink (also since I’m a dork and hate coffee unless it’s half milk with 5 packets of sugar), this is a good substitution. I believe the price of a grande for this drink is the same price as a tall for the Very Berry Hibiscus refresher, and at least to me, they taste almost the same. You can ask for it unsweetened also, I think?

5. – Jansport’s “Big Student Overexposed” Backpack in blue/red

I think this is the backpack I’m going to get. It’s reasonably cute, and it’s big, which is pretty much all I need from it. My last backpack was style over functionality, and it’s pretty much dead after two years. Additionally, I had to carry a lot of things in my hands, which is obviously ideal. I’m hoping this one will hold up.

6. – Zara’s “Slim Jeans” in blue (similar)

An update on those jeans I was going to get from PacSun last month: I read some reviews online, and ended up being a little scared by the reports of the quality, not being like the picture, etc, so I decided to not buy them. I’m pretty much wearing jeans through the entirety of the spring, fall, and winter seasons (and like half of summer, too, if we’re being honest). This is definitely a pretty essential, basic item. I hope the quality of these will hold up like all the other things I’ve gotten from Zara over the years.

7. – Just Between Us on YouTube

My new faves. I followed Allison Raskin and Gaby Dunn from BuzzFeed’s big mindless machine, where they used to be mainstays. They are so funny, and honestly their personality clash makes for some great comedy. If sketches or extreme cuteness from Allison is your thing, I encourage you to check out their channel (and JBU merch with their little heads).

8. – Costco Keds

Costco’s number #1 fan right here!!!! I got these shoes for literally 10 bucks at my local Costco. Even though they’re all sold out now, I thought I’d put this as one of my favorites anyway. I’m quickly becoming Claire Lyons! Nothing more than an excellent deal.

9. – Cookie In A Mug Recipe

I’m probably the last person in the world to discover this exists, but nevertheless, this is the best that’s happened to me this month. There’s nothing better than laying on the couch at 4 in the afternoon eating this, hot out of the microwave and with a scoop of ice cream, and watching reruns of Friends while wondering why Rachel got off the plane. Good times. This is also going to be a really great snack after long, rainy, hard days (I’m shuddering at the thought) when I go back to school.

10. – The “We Hate #CeceIsA” Club

@ I. Marlene King – I was rooting for you. We were all rooting for you. How dare you?!


Those are my August favorites! I go back to school on the 1st of September and I’m obviously not very happy about it. Oh, well.

(Maybe belated) good luck on your first day, too.

Capture

Author: jenna ♡

May all your dreams come true (even the ones they laughed at).

4 thoughts on “my august faves!!”

  1. Hey, Jenna!! I’m a huge marvel/DC comics fan so AOS is one of my faves- I totally recommend Daredevil (on Netflix) ((one of my all time faves)) and Arrow (not marvel -DC- but still good!).
    OMG I’m so obsessed with JBU- they’re so funny. I honestly watch buzzfeed way morethan I should admit.
    Great post!! xx (also I’m writing this on my phone so sorry for any weird grammar!)

    Like

  2. I’ve tried the Passion Tango Tea from Starbucks as well as the Peach Green Tea Lemonade (which is absolutely delicious) and they are so good!
    Good luck at school, I’m sure you’ll have a great year! (:
    Love Always,
    -M

    Like

got opinions? ♡

